More on the Purpose

I am still trying to get the hang of the whole blogging thing and I appreciate everyone who checked out my first post and I hope you enjoyed it (and hopefully found time to watch the video, it really is good). Today I really want to focus on the purpose of this blog, because I think it is really important to explain. 

I am a conservative person with some libertarian leanings. Basically, I am more of a classic liberal, enjoying small government thinkers such as John Locke, Adam Smith, F.A. Hayek and the like. More on my political philosophy will hashed out later, and I’m sure I will expend many many words doing it.

But back to purpose. 

Seeing as I’m from New York, and am a college student in Boston, it shouldn’t surprise anyone that I am used to being around people who do not think the same way as me. I have bit my tongue many a time overhearing “Obama Liberals” and other big government advocates talk about how the government needs to control nearly every aspect of society in order to make society better.

Listening to this stuff day after day and being in the intellectual minority can sometimes be tiring, but someone has to do it I guess, and what makes it especially hard is the fact that often times when a conservative offers a defense of small government, they often do it in a way that even makes ME think they are crazy. Put simply, I do not think that young conservatives have the tools needed to fight off liberal attacks, so I intend to at least try and push back the prevailing opinions of my generation.

 I’ll be the first to admit that it is a daunting task, but I just hope this blog can help to convince people that a better tomorrow does not come from the pen of a government bureaucrat, but from the actions of a free and moral people.

On another note, Go Eagles in our hockey game against Notre Dame tonight!

Image

 

One thought on “More on the Purpose

Leave a Reply

